Sri Lanka Currency

Print this Guide Print this Guide  | Email this Guide Email this Guide


The unit of currency is the Sri Lanka Rupee (LKR), which is divided into 100 cents. Major credit cards are widely accepted in major cities. ATMs are becoming more common, but outside the main cities they are unlikely to accept international cards. Credit cards should be used with caution due to the potential for fraud. Foreign currency can be exchanged at bureaux de change, banks and hotels. Banks are closed on Sundays.

Currency Exchange Rates

LKR 100.00 = AED 2.05 AUD 0.82 CAD 0.73 EUR 0.50 NZD 0.84 GBP 0.43 USD 0.56 ZAR 8.05

Note: These currency exchange rates are not updated daily and should be used as a guideline only.