Bhutan is divided into three distinct areas, each with its own climate and associated weather conditions. The southern lowlands are damp and warm, the plains are tropical and the Himalayan region is characterised by bitterly cold winters and mild summers. June to August gets very wet as the monsoon season brings rain from the Bay of Bengal. Winter runs from November to February and temperatures get colder as altitudes gets higher.